Publicado por: Mário Matos | 03/03/2009

The Pogues & Kirsty McColl

Não é Natal, mas lembrei-me hoje desta belíssima canção. Um dueto de Kirsty McColl com Evan Dando e os Pogues. Se repararem bem, um polícia que aparece no início do video é Matt Dylon.

Kirsty McColl morreu a 18 de Dezembro de 2000, aos 41 anos, num trágico acidente quando fazia mergulho, com os filhos, em Cozumel, no México. Foi atingida por um barco de recreio, apesar de se encontrar numa zona de mergulho de acesso restrito. Nunca foram apuradas responsabilidades. A mãe de Kirsty, Jean, luta por ver feita justiça. Veja: http://www.justiceforkirsty.org/

It’s not Christmas, but this beautiful song came to my mind today. It’s a duet between Kirsty McColl and Evan Dando and The Pogues. If you pay attention, you’ll see the cop pushing Evan Dando at the beginning of the video is Matt Dylon.

Kirsty McColl was killed by a power boat at the age of 41 whilst scuba diving with her sons in a restricted diving area off Cozumel, Mexico on 18th December 2000. All these years later, no-one has been made accountable to the satisfaction of her family and friends. Her mother Jean is seeking justice for Kirsty’s tragic and untimely death. She is seeking funds in pursuit of her case. There is a letter and email campaign which supporters can use to raise awareness of the issue. Please visit: http://www.justiceforkirsty.org/

It was christmas eve babe / Era véspera de Natal, miúda
In the drunk tank / Na pildra dos bêbedos
An old man said to me, wont see another one / Um velho disse-me: «já não verei outro»
And then he sang a song / E depois cantou uma canção
The rare old mountain dew / Sobre o orvalho nas montanhas
I turned my face away / Virei a cara
And dreamed about you / E sonhei contigo

Got on a lucky one / Tive sorte numa aposta
Came in eighteen to one / Deu dezoito para um
Ive got a feeling / Tenho a sensação
This years for me and you / Que este é o ano para ti e para mim
So happy christmas / Por isso, Feliz Natal
I love you baby / Amo-te, querida
I can see a better time / Consigo ver tempos melhores
When all our dreams come true / Em que todos os nossos sonhos se concretizam

They’ve got cars big as bars / Têm carros do tamanho de bares
They’ve got rivers of gold / Têm rios de ouro
But the wind goes right through you / Mas o vento passa por dentro de nós
It’s no place for the old / Não é lugar para velhos
When you first took my hand / Quando pela primeira vez me pegaste na mão
On a cold christmas eve / Numa fria noite de Natal
You promised me / Prometeste-me
Broadway was waiting for me / Que a Broadway estava à minha espera

You were handsome / Eras elegante
You were pretty / Eras bonita
Queen of new york city / A rainha de Nova Iorque
When the band finished playing / Quando a banda acabou de tocar
They howled out for more / Gritaram por mais
Sinatra was swinging / Sinatra gingava
All the drunks they were singing / E todos os bêbedos cantavam
We kissed on a corner / Baijámo-nos numa esquina
Then danced through the night / E depois dançámos noite fora

The boys of the nypd choir / Os rapazes do coro da polícia
Were singing galway Bay / Cantavam Galway Bay
And the bells were ringing out / E os sinos batiam
For christmas day / Pelo dia de Natal

You’re a bum / És um vadio
You’re a punk / És um desgraçado
You’re an old slut on junk / És uma vaca agarrada
Lying there almost dead on a drip in that bed / Deitada quase morta na cama com uma agulha

You scumbag, you maggot / Meu traste, meu verme
You cheap lousy faggot / Seu maricas de merda
Happy christmas your arse / Feliz Natal o raio que te parta
I pray God its our last / Rezo a Deus para seja o nosso último

I could have been someone / Eu podia ter sido alguém
Well so could anyone / Pois, isso toda a gente
You took my dreams from me / Roubaste-me os meus sonhos
When I first found you / Assim que te conheci
I kept them with me babe / Mantive-os comigo, querida
I put them with my own / Juntei-os aos meus
Cant make it all alone / Não consigo safar-me sozinho
I’ve built my dreams around you / Construí os meus sonhos à tua volta

Deixe uma Resposta

Categorias

